Goals Before the Polls

It’s been a looooooong time since I’ve logged into WordPress. So long, in fact, that I had forgotten my password and was required to create a new one.
Image result for back on the horse memes
Here is a short summary of my life since the last post:

  1. I failed yet again at my Whole30 attempt due to life happening (see below).
  2. I quit my job and got a new job back in the Orlando area.
  3. I moved to the Orlando area and moved in with my cop boyfriend (gasp).
  4. Living with a guy that thinks I’m beautiful in every way possible makes indulging more than okay.
  5. Indulging catches up with you so I’ve gained 10-15 pounds… Not that it matters but I really like to keep my body at a comfortable, regular weight.*

*Disclaimer – I LOVE my body. It does AMAZING things. Please don’t misinterpret this to mean I am not a supporter of body positivity, especially my own. Every body is beautiful and every person should feel good in theirs… I just know at what level I feel good in mine 🙂

All that being said, I think it’s time to get back on track. And with the election pending and the polls indicating a currently uncertain future for the United States, getting back on track is a sure-fire way to make sure my own future plans are certain.
Image result for donkey elephant
Getting back on track is a perfect excuse to come back to blogging and give it the good old college try (much like the Noles did against Miami Saturday evening, yikes). I’m encouraged because so many of my favorite bloggers have admitted to attempting blogging several times before getting it down pat.

So without further ado, let’s bang out a list of goals that I’m going to set for myself.

  1. This is the most obvious… Start blogging again and more consistently than before!
  2. Get back into CrossFit because I miss it – when I moved, I had to say good bye to my box AND all that progress. Hopefully I have digressed so much that I can’t hit my next goal…
  3. Squat 150 pounds by the end of the year. I tried last month and surprised myself by back squatting 135 pounds. That’s only 15 more pounds, people!
  4. Continue to go to yoga once a week (because I’ve been successful at that!).
  5. Run 2-3 times a week.
  6. Get back to a level of fitness that I’m comfortable at by eating cleaner and indulging when it’s truly worth it (i.e. Grandma’s homemade brownies or whenever my boyfriend cooks).

I’m excited to get back on here to have wonderful, like-thinking people to support me since the last people I worked out with live in San Francisco!

img_6410

And because I can’t just let others carry me, here are my real-life first steps in achieving these six goals:

  1. Blog instead of keep a paper journal (which is what I’ve done in the past). This way I will actually get blog posts up because keeping track of my food and workouts will be done right here.
  2. I emailed three different CrossFit boxes within 2 miles of my neighborhood. I’ve already made arrangements to go to my first class tomorrow (6 a.m., oy, wish me luck getting back into that routine).
  3. See above!
  4. I’ve been buying 5-day passes that are good for 90 days with a yoga place in my neighborhood – College Park Yoga – and I plan to continue because it feels SO GOOD.
  5. I’ve been doing this but I need to have more focus on my runs… Luckily, the weather is getting better and is helping me achieve this goal in doing so.
  6. This is my toughest goal because eating cleaner is the best way to achieve it and food is both the love of my life and my arch nemesis. Working out comes easily to me but fueling my body properly (meaning, not over-feeding it) is a challenge. I will be journaling my food intake here so hopefully knowing I have to tell people when I stumble off the path of righteousness (or the top of the food pyramid) will make it easier for me.

And that’s the Way of Fit.

W: Let’s just say 158ish

Food Log:

Breakfast – oatmeal with a spoonful of almond butter, cocoa powder, blueberries and Splenda, black coffee

Lunch – Turkey roll-ups with red bell pepper slices and avocado inside, a banana, some walnuts, some cashew milk

Dinner – Surprise Crockpot dinner made by my boyfriend (it’s always interesting)

After Dinner – Pumpkin tea

Workout: 2.5 mile run (usually I run Tues/Thurs/Sun but the WEATHER is too beautiful)

Question of the Day: What do you do when you fall off the fitness wagon? What are your goals for getting back on track? 

Leave a Reply

