Shopping for CrossFits – Day 1

softball

I remember the first time I joined a CrossFit gym, or a “box” – a jargon term that I just can’t bring myself to use – I just jumped right in. I went to the gym across the street from where I was working, said, “I’m an athlete that feels the need to switch my workout up,” and I was signed up for Fundamentals before I could question whether or not my gym was a good one.

It turned out to be one of the best CrossFit gymsthat I would ever step foot into. With more than six coaches and part-time coaches to work as subs, I was in great company with CrossFit Lakeland. The majority of these coaches even had personal training backgrounds. Two or three had exercise science majors under their weight belts.

Ergo, finding a new gym to attend is going to be challenging.

Here are steps I’ve taken:

  1. Google “CrossFit gyms near “insert my address here.”
  2. Zoom in on gyms within a 2-3 mile radius… Anywhere that would take me more than 10 minutes to get to is honestly just not going to work out for me.
  3. Email each gym to ask about testing out since I’ve been doing CrossFit for over a year (despite my two months of not being affiliated with an actual gym, I’ve been consistently pulling WODs from online and doing them).
  4. Schedule times to come in to meet the staff, see the gym, and do a WOD.

So far I’ve visited one box – CrossFit Winter Park.

sagwagewa

The gym set-up remind me of my gym sweet gym from back in Lakeland. It was spacious, high-ceilinged, and air conditioned (a luxury to a lot of boxes, trust me). The coaching staff were instructive, the members seemed happy, supportive, and non-judgmental… My only issue is price because it costs more than my old gym (granted only by $10 but why should it cost more with less space?).
I did like that the coaches were all friendly and really interested in chatting with me, plus, they asked me to come in for a second free WOD just to see how other days of the week went. I’m going back Thursday for a more mobility-related day. I’m excited for that.

I also made friends with people my age named Stephanie and Sierra. Although they haven’t been doing CrossFit as long as me, they were totally ready to include me at their bar and let me know their thoughts about CrossFit Winter Park.

By the end of the WOD and the admission that there was free yoga on Sundays at 10 a.m., I wanted to join then and there but I still have two more CrossFit gyms to check out:

Supernatural CrossFit (downsides so far include no 6 a.m. class which is more likely the time I’d want to go)

CrossFit Orlando (downsides include a very packed gym)

I will keep you updated on these gyms. Here’s a summary of the Pros and Cons of CrossFit Winter Park

Pros: Uses Wodify, Sunday yoga, Dedicates Thursdays to mobility and technique

Cons: Price, a lot of stoplights on the way

Yesterday’s WOD:

Warm-up:
200m Run then Group Barbell Jerk Warm-up

Oly:
Split Jerk
4@70%, 3@75%, 2@80%, 2@85%, 2@85%+

Only worked up to 85 lbs split jerk but hey… Just getting back.

WOD:
300m Row
then,
30 Ball Slam (25/15)
30 C2B
30 Reverse DB Lunges (25/15)
20 Ball Slam
20 Pull-up
20 Reverse DB Lunges
10 Ball Slam
10 Strict Pull-up
10 Reverse DB Lunges

It took me 15:13 and I definitely did ring rows for the most part even when I started with banded pull-ups. Sigh.

10/11 Food Log:

W: 156.2

Breakfast – banana, blueberries, apple Lara Bar (chopped up) with unsweetened vanilla cashew milk

Lunch – Turkey roll ups with avocado and red bell pepper in them, 20 grapes

Dinner – 1/2 Greek salad with 1/3 a pita from Christo’s (oh, if only you KNEW this diner)

After dinner – like… 10 honey wheat pretzel sticks. Maybe more. Delicious.

10/12 Food Log:

W: 156.5

Breakfast: 1/2 Greek salad with 2/3 a pita (leftover from last night’s dinner), coffee with cashew milk and chocolate syrup

Lunch: Chicken pita from Pita Pit, popcorn

Snack: HOMEMADE (this is why I made this decision) chocolate cheesecake with whipped cream (OMG it was dreamy, don’t hate, ya’ll) with cashew milk

Dinner: Scotch eggs (turkey sausage wrapped around a boiled egg and baked), Brussel sprouts

After: Hot tea – possibly Throat Coat because I’m weird and think it tastes like licorice.

 

 

Leave a Reply

